Reusable bag for produce

I made a reusable bag for produce!

produce-bag-1produce-bag-2produce-bag-3

I follow Celia’s blog (Fig Jam and Lime Cordial) and she often offers interesting ideas to save the environment.

One of these is to make reusable bags for produce to avoid using plastic bags (VERY BAD for the environment) or paper bags (much better, but still why use unnecessary resources and cut down trees).

She used net fabric but I didm’t have any at hand. I didn’t want to use man-made fibre (= nylon = plastic = oil = BAD for nature)

The idea stayed in the back of my mind for a while, then one day it came to my mind that I had some vintage cotton (a charity shop from while ago) in my collection.

vintage-cotton-yarn

While cotton is a natural fibre, it is not necessarily good for our Earth: it uses a lot of water to produce the raw material and then process it. A LOT, like in

20,000 LITERS
The amount of water needed to produce one kilogram of cotton; equivalent to a single t-shirt and pair of jeans.

(source: WWF https://www.worldwildlife.org/industries/cotton). So I was happy to use some unwanted vintage one.

Pattern:
I went freestyle –  just did some filet crochet alternating sections of standard filet with parts of double-chain ((I think – whatever it is that it results in a “full square” rather than the “empty square” of filet).

Project notes with instructions:

https://www.ravelry.com/projects/ItWasJudith/reusable-produce-bag

produce-bag-4

produce-bag-5

produce-bag-6 The first side

The only thing to improve is possibly making it with a finer yarn to obtain a lighter weight; this one is about 20-25g for a small size (finished bag is approximately 19×24 cm).

The bag is now finished and is being carried in my rucksack for when I go food shopping.

It’s perfect for the small vegetables (mushrooms, beans, carrots..), nuts or fruits (kiwi, mandarines), etc.

It can store the items as long as needed and then reused. When dirty it can be easily washed.

I’m so happy to have made it!

 

13 thoughts on “Reusable bag for produce

  1. kathyreeves says:

    Great use of that thrift store cotton!

  2. Go you! looks like it didn’t take too long to make either.

    • itwasjudith says:

      It would have been quick if I got to work on it…. I took long pauses in between sections, possibly because I didn’t have a pattern or exact plan? Finally I got to decide how to complete it. A second one would be much faster, I’m sure, especially as I have project notes (not that it’s that difficult, really!)

  3. I love the idea of this. I don’t usually use the plastic throw away bags and just put the produce in the canvas bag they go home in but I love this as a solution.

    • itwasjudith says:

      Thanks for visiting!
      Yes, I do the same most of the times but it makes a bit more difficult with things moving around and smaller bits like walnuts wouldn’t go lose inside the large bag. Also, shops are not always happy if I go at the till with a bunch of lose small items, which I may understand 😉 I thought this could be

  4. Sartenada says:

    Very good!

    I think that quilters have been trailblazer during the decades. Nobody says them thank You teaching us. Some examples:

    Quilted hand bags and toiletry bags

    In Finland we reuse empty coffee bags! My wife shows You:

    How to make bags from empty coffee bags

    How to make evening bag from empty coffee bags

    Happy weekend!

    • itwasjudith says:

      Thanks for the nice examples 🙂
      I particularly like when quilters (re)use pieces of fabric that would otherwise be discarded. That way less new materials have to be produced, which is good for this planet.
      I love those “woven” coffee bags – such a good idea to avoid sending the bags to landfill 🙂
      Thanks for visiting. Have a lovely weekend too!

  5. My daughter made me some of these reuseable produce bags — I also love them for sorting and storing socks and T-shirts, etc. in my drawers. I live on a farm and so I wear old clothes around the house — I keep my presentable things in these bags and when I am going out or traveling, I pull items from the storage bags, or even grab the whole bag.

    • itwasjudith says:

      That’s a great idea!
      I might do something similar for when I travel – have a small bag with things ready to go in the luggage!
      Thanks for visiting and commenting 🙂

  6. Great Idea! Thanks for the pattern.

Leave a comment