Camping weekend in Guildford, UK

I haven’t posted in ages.. life has got in the way (insert boring details)

IMG_6957_1024

This weekend I have been camping… yes! I hadn’t done in ages and really loved it. It certainly helped that the weather was graciously good and they offered very decent facilities!

It was for the EMF Camp that takes place every two years – a large gathering of investigative minds and non-grown-up folks. In the words of the organisers:

Electromagnetic Field is a non-profit UK camping festival for those with an inquisitive mind or an interest in making things: hackers, artists, geeks, crafters, scientists, and engineers.

There were various activities – from talks to workshops, soldering sessions, blacksmithing, make-you-very-own-ring, villages (people with a shared interest of any legit sort), retro arcade…. (incomplete list by any means). An amazing varied crowd attended – families, geeks, alternative people, all genders/ages/tastes, from as far as Germany and Netherlands, Ireland (as well as from Scotland, Wales and England).

I tried out soldering, put up/down my very own tent with no hiccups (first-timer), played retro video-games. Generally had a fab time and felt very much in sync with the spirit and the landscape (amazing location, did I mention already?).

IMG_6956_1024.jpg

My very own happy tent

My newbie soldering (left, and left)

The Retro Arcade – play anything vintage, for free

IMG_6989_1024.jpg

The creator of the smallest sat (which orbited for 22 months, but found no cosmic rays – hope I got this right). http://www.50dollarsat.info and amsat.org

I also tasted freshly made Dutch Stroopwafel (a heavenly delicious recipe involving loads of butter, I understand). Sadly the blacksmithing was booked out, doh.

IMG_6970_1024.jpg

Stroopwafel, freshly made on the spot (note my reusable light-weight container!)

…And got to wear flip-flops, walked bare-footed, sat on hay bales and got closer to Mother Nature. Big win.

The organisers made an excellent job and all ran smoothly. A big thank you!

IMG_6985_1024.jpg

7 thoughts on “Camping weekend in Guildford, UK

  1. Looks like you had a great time… and good weather too (no small achievement recently)

  2. This sounds like so much fun! :O I would’ve wanted to try everything.

    • itwasjudith says:

      It was, indeed! There was plenty to try out.. sadly, some activities were pretty much booked out, as I failed to check the key time plan… oh well, it’ll be on in two years again

  3. Curls & Q says:

    Q – This is my type of fun! I admit it I’m a total geek!! Lucky you.

Leave a Reply

