Are you ready for the caravan of love?

So this morning I found myself singing this tune on my way back from collecting something from the post office: “Caravan of Love”, The Housemartins.

I love the lyrics:

are you ready for the time of your life
it’s time to stand up and fight
it’s alright it’s alright

Hand in hand we’ll take a caravan to the motherland
one by one we’re gonna stand up with pride
one that can’t be denied stand up stand up
from the highest mountain valley low
we’ll join together with hearts of gold

[…] Every woman every man join the caravan of love
stand up stand up stand up
everybody take a stand join the caravan of love
stand up stand up stand up

I’m your brother
I’m your brother don’t you know
she’s my sister
she’s my sister don’t you know

We’ll be living in a world of peace
in the day when every one is free
we’ll bring the young and the old
won’t you let your love flow from your heart

These words tell so much of how I feel about this world and how I wish matters were for Mother Earth.

While walking back my late mother came back to my mind. In the few times when she would be happy, sometimes you could hear her singing some old tunes while going around the house. I loved to hear that – she was such a gentle and generous spirit and I feel really sorry that she had a hard and unhappy life with my father. I so wish she could have had the life she deserved, for her good spirit and many talents.

Sorry I brought back a personal and sad topic, after the cheerful song!

Isn’t it lovely when you find yourself or others singing a tune from the bottom of their heart?

Have you recently found yourself singing?

7 thoughts on “Are you ready for the caravan of love?

  1. The sng I’ve been singing to myself today is Neil Diamond’s ‘No Words’… I love the song but for some reason it makes me cry.

    • itwasjudith says:

      Maybe they are bitter sweet tears, or actual tears of happiness…?
      I think you’re generous gifts have arrived, I collected a packet from the depot and look forward to opening it tonight 🙂 Again, many thanks!!

  2. tess says:

    Great song, and what a fun live recording, too! This time of year I’m mostly singing Christmas songs, but I find myself drawn to the more melancholy ones. Don’t know why…I guess it’s a bittersweet time for many people.

    • itwasjudith says:

      Sometimes I also feel melancholic during otherwise merry seasons. Funny, I can’t remember myself singing Christmas songs… although I do like them. I wish you a happy festive season!

  3. Oh my dear Judith, this is bitter sweet. It is a lovely song! I have so many songs I can sing from the bottom of my heart but around this time a year I dust of my collection of fifties Christmas songs..they make me very happy. Xo Johanna

    • itwasjudith says:

      While I like Christmas songs, for some reason I never listen to them at home 🙂 I should really take my Christmas cd out and play it ✲✲ Hope your festive season is being peaceful and full of joy ♡

  4. Great song..a Happy New Year to you! zzz

Leave a Reply

