And then there were the draught stoppers

Today I came across an old post about the Feline Draught Stopper, then WIP.. It took a while to complete, but last year it was finally done, and in use. Tadah!

ex Feline Draught Stopper

Here above it is, washed, stuffed and ready to be put in action again after the summer.

IMG_6395

I omitted the original feline head and tail, so it’s fair to say that cat is no more. I had to leave them out because they were going to be in the way when put in place on the window.

To make it I have (re)used materials that I had already in store.Β The outer shell was made with assorted wool rests, while the inner filling was done reusing bubble wrap from deliveries – just gathered together and rolled as a sausage.

IMG_6397

Above, on the right, you can see another draught stopper sewed by a friend of mine. It is made with fabric rests and vintage snap fasteners to close the side opening.

And here it is in use: preventing the cold draught coming in from the sash window, and also saving heating fuel. Good for the environment and for the purse!

IMG_6403

Finally, just a few ideas I saw in a shop window nearby. Maybe someone good at sewing could make these…

IMG_5858_1024 IMG_5859_1024

7 thoughts on “And then there were the draught stoppers

  1. Ahh, I’d never considered using bubble wrap in them, that’s an excellent idea πŸ™‚

  2. happyface313 says:

    πŸ™‚ I never thought of making one myself, although it seems to be fairly easy. Great idea! – But I have one, too – it sits by my door, keeping the cold outside.
    Have a very HAPPY week πŸ™‚

  3. dancingwoolymasters says:

    Great idea. Your knitted “stopper” is very attractive too. Wouldn’t last 10 minutes in my house with my dozen cats! Any knitted thing that has the potential of rolling is doomed!

    • itwasjudith says:

      Thanks! Oh, I know what you mean, I used to have a cat (actually, a few at some point) and I had to hide all “interesting” things, like ribbons, wool and the like πŸ™‚ Sewn stoppers should possibly still work in your house? cats shouldn’t be too interested in fabric πŸ˜‰ have a nice day!

Leave a Reply

