Christmas Special by Jean Greenhowe (give-away)

In this part of the world the days are becoming shorter and cooler – so I had the first thoughts about the next season.

I know that some knitters have already been working on their Christmas presents and decorations, which made me think of this cute booklet by Jean Greenhowe: Christmas Special.

I am giving away an unused copy – it’s very simple to participate: just leave a comment on this post by Saturday 30th August! The winner will be randomly selected. 

Christmas Special contains many knitted patterns for the Christmas season (but not only). Below is a gallery of images covering some of the patterns.

Christmas Special - cover

Christmas Special – cover

Mrs Claus

Mrs Claus

Christmas Stockings

Christmas Stockings

Tea Cosies

Tea Cosies

Christmas Decorations

Christmas Decorations

Christmas decorations

Christmas decorations

Robin on a log

Robin on a log

Robin Christmas decoration

Robin Christmas decoration

Cinderella - inside-out

Cinderella – inside-out

Snowpeople

Snowpeople

Best Friends

Best Friends

Which one is your favourite? Mine are Mrs Claus, the robin and the tea cosies.

Thank you for taking part and good luck!

 

10 thoughts on “Christmas Special by Jean Greenhowe (give-away)

  1. sally92013 says:

    I love them all but I would make the log first. We always had a log when I was a child so it reminds me of lovely times when a ten shilling note was a fortune!

    • itwasjudith says:

      Thank you!
      Childhood memories… so sweet…
      I remember when we used to put up the real Christmas tree with glass decorations & lights, and time spent with relatives

  2. It is still balmy hot in Cincnnati and looking at the seasonal images for fall and winter makes me sooo happy!! I love these cozy retro images and those tea cozies really are singing a song ♬♬♬
    I was already spoiled by a give away from you so I am already happy with your lovley post. Thank you xoxoxo

    • itwasjudith says:

      Thank you!
      I also found myself thinking of the colder days to come and all the nice things coming with the festive season (and not only!)
      And the tea cups to be drunk, of course 🙂
      hugs ❤

  3. happyface313 says:

    🙂 Oh, my goodness, how sweet is that! I adore the little Christmas decorations! And yes, I’d please like to take part!
    A very HAPPY week to you! 🙂

  4. Martha says:

    Thats a lovely Christmas book! It will keep every knitter well busy! I love that little round robin, tea cozies and the stockings especially!
    To be honest, the more I wander around the blogs, the more nerovous I become – people are starting to create Christmas stuff already and I havent even thought about it yet!
    Would love to make it with the julekuler advent calendar this year!

    nice to see you blogging again, welcome back.

    • itwasjudith says:

      Thanks 🙂
      I think the tea cosies may be the most popular item, they’re so cute.
      By the way, I LOVED your recent post on the Knitting Scandinavian Style book! Obviously that book must have distracted your attention from any Christmas preparations and focus it on the Nordic items… it has so many beautiful patterns…. may have to get the book soon 🙂
      Thanks for visiting and your nice words ❤

  5. Ooooh, very difficult to choose. I love the tea cosies, both robins, and I think Cinderalla would make a perfect for a little girl.

Leave a Reply

