Is it destiny?

I restarted work on the Old Shale Shawl, but after about 20 rows of 200+ stitches, there was something not quite right: while the total number of stitches was correct, their distribution was slightly out of the main axis. After checking and counting again, I spread the shawl open and, horror, I noticed where the issue came from:

Image

The main axis was shifted by a couple of stitches.

Is it destiny that I unravel it back to that point? That’s more or less the same point where the shading didn’t fully match.

Of course, I would rather not do that, considered the 200+ sts in each row – about 20 of them. Also, it seems difficult to place a lifeline following one row, because the horizontal pattern is not laying straight.

Alternatively, I could perhaps attempt something that I’ve read about, but have not much confidence in trying out here: unravelling just a vertical line of ~4 stitches. It’d probably be an easy task for an experienced knitter, but this is not the case for me 🙂

What would you do?

34 thoughts on “Is it destiny?

  1. Tina says:

    The perfectionist in me would tink back to where the change occurred, if not, it would drive me crazy , lol

    • itwasjudith says:

      I totally agree that it needs fixing 🙂
      I’m not sure whether to unravel it all or to attempt to only operate on a vertical section to fix the problem. Probably I will go for the former, I think it was meant to be!

  2. I think you’ll probably have to unravel the whole stinking thing. It sucks, but it looks like it might have thrown all your stitches out of whack. It would kill me, but just to be safe, that’s what I would do.

  3. K. A. Jordan says:

    I’d say try the fix on the vertical – if it doesn’ work, you can always frog it..

  4. onedabbles says:

    Can you try the vertical fix, and if it doesn’t work, tink it – or does one cancel out the other? It sounds like it will bother you to leave it uncorrected. I can’t tink very well so I usually end up undoing the lot… Give yourself a nice treat while you’re doing it… cup of tea? favourite music? wee cakie thing?

  5. worsted says:

    What I think you have here is a typical example of what I call “slip of the needle”, whereby you subconsciously introduce an error in your work in order to be justified to go back and redo something that has been nagging you.

  6. soknitsome says:

    I’d try the vertical unraveling but move to ripping back if I saw it wasn’t resolving the problem.

  7. Edith says:

    I would pour a stiff g&t, have a good cry, then unravel, but not before trying to work the vertical fix first, which I have done one or two times before, but only in plain stockinette, never a pattern. Good luck.

  8. slippedstitches says:

    The question I always ask myself when I’ve made a mistake many, many rows back is: Can I live with it? Usually the answer is no. You may have to put a smile on your face and rip back. It’s probably why the colours didn’t stay the way you wanted them to.

  9. mazzaus says:

    Dropping back vertically is not so difficult, and you can do it multiple times before deciding that frogging is your only option. It helps to make sure you have whatever might be a good stitch holder–or some choices–handy. It helps to use a crochet hook in a slightly smaller gauge to pick your stitches back up. It helps to have a friend who knows how it is done! Wishing you luck!

    • itwasjudith says:

      Thank you for the helpful words and the wishes 🙂
      I’ll have to wait until I’m back from my trip, but I look forward to try and learn how to do it 🙂
      Have a nice day!

  10. Try the vertical fix first.My advise: do it by daylight when you really have time to do this. have ready yarn in contrasting color, large needle and a crochet hook. if you see a stitch escaping, safe it with your crochet hook and contrasting yarn. It is really not that difficult but just do it careful and with a sharp eye;0) if you master this, you will enjoy it the rest of your knitting life!!! good luck!

    • itwasjudith says:

      Thank you Johanna 🙂 Wise advise, I will follow it, and hopefully I will manage. It’ll be a good learning experience.
      Sadly, I’m about to go on a trip and have no spare space to take the shawl with me, so it will have to wait for me to be back..
      Hugs to my dear friend, hope you’re having a nice summer ❤

  11. Whatever you do..it’ll be worth it..gorgeous colours! xxx

  12. Hello, I would try the vertical fix first as I see others are advising too. A break and coming back to it fresh is probably a very good thing. I hope the vertical fix works but if not at least you’ll be full of energy (I hope) after your trip! 🙂

    • itwasjudith says:

      Hello, thanks for the advice! Yes, it’s probably the best thing to try 🙂
      I took a break from it as I’ve been away and now searching for a job after graduating 😉
      Thanks for visiting!

  13. I’d also go for the vertical fix, but you’re going to have to unravel more than 4 stitches (all the stitches which were created after the mistake are going to have to go as well). If you put in a lifeline before the patterning (missing out those stitches which will be going) and it goes wrong, you could then easily rip it back to the life-line and then tink! Good luck whatever you do

  14. I think I’m old school on that one. I’d rip it back…Looks like you have already decided though. I can’t wait to see what happened!

    • itwasjudith says:

      Thank you for visiting and leaving your comment 🙂
      I’ll probably end up having to rip it anyway… i may try the partial ripping first, as this would give me a chance to have a go at this technique, although i’m pretty sure i’ll mess it up.. and so frog it back 🙂

  15. What did you decide to do. I had a similar experience with a 200 stitch baby blanket and ripped it!

  16. iknead2knit says:

    Been there done that! Thanks for the follow.

Leave a Reply

