Silk forest?

While I’m pondering on how to proceed with the Old Shale Shawl, I was tidying up some of my stash. We shall not go into details of the stash, though.

I rediscovered some silk yarn I purchased while ago because of its colours – greens, with shades of blues or browns. Not a surprise, lol.

Looking up on Ravelry, there were quite a large number of patterns for the “forest” keyword. I didn’t get through even a fraction of them and already found many a beautiful one – some even free.

Though, I have never knitted with silk yarn before and don’t know what to expect. I understand that it has little to no elasticity, which is confirmed by the feeling while balling up one of the skeins.

These are the colours I intend to use:

Image

Image

and these are some of the patterns I perused thus far:

Hidden in The Forest by Veera Välimäki

Pine Forest Baby Blanket by Ingrid Aartun Bøe

Olympic Forest Baby Blanket by verybusymonkey

Gothic Forest Scarf by Janelle Martin

Queen of the Forest by Amadeit

Deep Green Forest by Espino Susunaga

I would love to hear about your experience with silk, how did you find knitting with it?

7 thoughts on “Silk forest?

  1. sally92013 says:

    I have combined a 2 ply silk with a 2ply wool and made a sweater , it was a long time ago but I remember it being surprisingly heavy. The feel of it was luxurious though. II have not used silk alone and I too have some in my stash in oyster and in peach – good luck!

    • itwasjudith says:

      Many thanks for sharing your experience and advice 🙂
      Today I am going to try knit a bit of it for a summer top, and see what it comes out of it… I’ll report later
      Fingers crossed!

  2. *Wisher* says:

    woooo.. the silk colour is so yummy.. *slurp* love it.. I’ve not done with silk before.. (Too expensive here) but would love to try it one day.. and I think the effect will be soft and luxury to wear.. love watching your progress. 😉

  3. Beautiful colors indeed, and the forest theme is well chosen! I love knitting with silk. It is so soft and pretty and it will shine more as you handle it. I knitted mittens and socks with it and was very pleased with result. As to the patterns: knowing your love for the country and care for the environment, ‘Queen of the Forest’ is the most appropriate! Hugs and Kisses from the other side of the pond.

    • itwasjudith says:

      Thank you Johanna for the advice 🙂 I just started a small top in another colour of the same silk to try the yarn… let’s see how the yarn behaves! All the best ❤

  4. slippedstitches says:

    Beautiful colors. I haven’t worked with all silk but often knitters comment on how difficult it is to keep woven ends in. The yarn tends to be slippery that way.

    • itwasjudith says:

      Thank you for the advice, I didn’t know about that!
      I just started a thing to try the yarn out, so far has gone well, but it’s too early to say 🙂

Leave a Reply

