Houston, We’ve Got a Problem

In the previous post, you have seen the last error-free picture of the shawl. Sadly, immediately after I took that picture, I ran into a problem…

ImageImage

 

The natural shading no longer matches with the previous repeats. Sigh.

My rational side suggests to place a lifeline, unravel back to the end of the last fan motif and reknit with matching colours. The practical side of me, who would like to avoid the hassle and finish this before next week, is not agreeing so much.

For the moment I just left the shawl aside, with the risk of getting stuck. I’ll give some more time to think and then need to make some decision!

20 thoughts on “Houston, We’ve Got a Problem

  1. yarnie52 says:

    I imagine as your shawl gets wider with each repeat it would be increasingly difficult to match color

  2. Tina says:

    I think it is quite lovely and the transitions in color would give a bit of depth.

  3. sally92013 says:

    I agree with Tina – it’s lovely as it is.

  4. worsted says:

    Why would you want all the repeats to match in colour? I think it looks way more interesting as is. Moreover, when/if you fearlessly block your shawl, the fan will really spread open, and colour will/should become less prominent than motifs.

  5. Julia M. says:

    Sleep on it. Sometimes I find I don’t mind things so much in the end – if it still bothers you, you can still frog. 🙂

  6. nancywalker says:

    Maybe keep it ‘unmatched’ it makes it interesting. And Could have been a choice. Is it a mistake or a new creative idea?

  7. Febr12 says:

    It’s so lovely already, really beautiful! I absolutely love that shading and if it was me I wouldn’t pay any attention to matching the color with the texture.
    It will make a gorgeous shawl!!

  8. Well, you already had lots of sounds advice so I have not much h to add to that;0) Just keep on knitting and do not bother with matching shading. It looks absolutely lovely!

  9. Jane says:

    Such lovely colours!

Leave a Reply

