British Shetland fibre

A quick post in between exams, just to show some awesome sweetness I recently purchased from Hilltop Cloud:

Image

British Shetland Top Roving Hand Dyed by Hilltop Cloud

It’s Superfine British Shetland Top Roving hand-dyed. Hilltop Cloud offers some amazing fibre and also various accessories and kits (no, I’m not getting paid to advertise it!).

It’s a lovely squishy hearty blue-green dream, in two different colourways: 2044, which is a blue/green/gray/light blue mix, and 2048, in similar shades except with gray shades replaces by purplish tones. Hard to describe, I better let the pictures speak for themselves (all pictures are taken from Hilltop Cloud’s product pages).

ImageImageImageImage

ImageImageImageImage

Aren’t they beautiful?

…the only issue with them, is that I still haven’t learn to spin! I was hoping to attend a small workshop but my budget at the moment is under strain… student life. Not that this is so bad: with a bit of time and complimentary assistance of the world-wide-web I will try some LIY (learn-it-yourself).

Oh, and I still have a few batches of divine fleece to wash – and source some inexpensive combers (any advice or hints on combers are welcome).

Have a nice woolly week!

 

10 thoughts on “British Shetland fibre

  1. ohlala, that is lovely wooly material! I know nothing about spinning,would love to learn it. The photos are great and suddenly the fairy tale of Rapunzel comes to mind…I wonder why;0) Good luck with your exams! I am sending good vibes from the other side of the pond! xoxox, Johanna

    • itwasjudith says:

      now that you mention Rapunzel, you’re right, it does remind of the fairy tale 🙂
      Thank you for sending good wishes & vibes, I’ll need them! reading through some really boring material at the moment
      love, J

  2. Andi says:

    So lovely! We have one little Shetland, their wool is yummy!

  3. waywardleaf says:

    Lovely fibre! I am a fan of Hilltop Cloud, Katie sells some beautiful rovings and batts. I actually bought her ‘learn to spin drop spindle kit’ a year or so ago, well worth it! I loved spinning so much I advanced to a grown up spinning wheel a couple of months ago. Enjoy your fibre!

    • itwasjudith says:

      Yes, she produces some really amazing items and I would love to buy more… By coincidence, I was also looking at ordering her learn to spin drop spindle kit 🙂
      hopefully soon…!

    • itwasjudith says:

      Did you find it hard to learn to spin with a spindle? i looked at some videos and the coordination seems quite difficult

      • waywardleaf says:

        Yes and no….! I got a little frustrated to start with because I couldn’t quite get it, but once I stopped trying so hard and focused on just finding out for myself what worked rather than worrying about technique/was I doing it right, it all fell into place. My first yarn was truly awful, but it’s all uphill from there!

  4. Heather says:

    Yeah go for it. Now, it seemed to take me longer than others. But Abby Franquemonts main advice is: keep practicing 10-15 mins a day for a few weeks and you’ll get it. The easiest thing to do is park n draft. Just spin to build up some twist then let it into the wool. I did the short draw method where I controlled what I pulled out and when the twist entered what I had drawn. It seemed slow going… But when I finally risked letting go, it’s crazy fast! My first yarn is a bit wacky, but I kind of like it 😉 ping me if you need help! I also bought videos, courses and books. But looking back I just needed to practice.

    • itwasjudith says:

      Heather, thank you so much for your advice 🙂 I ordered a beginner spindle, so hopefully will try once I have some spare time!
      Looking at other people’s results, they look so beautiful

Leave a Reply

