repairing

please mend me

please mend me

The title should have read “mending”, really, but as my work hasn’t followed any manual or good practices, I opted for a more humble word.

I am a supporter of repair & reuse: I like the idea that it’s not always necessary to produce new things; often it’s possible to give old items a new life. This is good on many fronts – the environment, the purse and one own creativity. So I have been buying old things with the aim of making something out of them. I’m sure there is some hoarding aspect in this behaviour of mine, but that’s another story…

Today I made a start on repairing a very nice blanket acquired recently for a couple of pounds (a tiny fraction of its new price). It’s a British made all wool throw, made by Burkraft. Beside a thorough wash, it needed a good mending.

Burkraft blanket

Burkraft blanket

Burkraft, dress Stewart, all wool, British made wool

Burkraft, Dress Stewart, all wool, British made wool

The colour scheme is very pretty – it contains most of my favourite colours, plus I love tartans. With regard to the tartan, this is the “Dress Stewart”. A bit of research brought to light that the Dress Stewart is one of the royal tartans (source: Scottish Tartans Authority, Royal Tartans):

STEWART DRESS – The Dress version of Royal Stewart with the predominant red squares replaced by white. Worn by the female members of the Royal family often for evening occasions but also worn for Dress occasions by HRH Duke of Edinburgh, HRH Prince of Wales and HRH Prince Edward.

The yarn used for the mending is 100% pure wool and although I’m not certain, I believe that it is produced in the UK. It comes from a large cone bought from a UK yarn producer.

...and the pure wool mending yarn

…and the pure wool mending yarn

one of the holes

one of the holes, it’s huge

The repair took quite some time, in fact it’s not yet fully done, but you’ll get the idea from these pics:

As you can see from the photos, the results are not to a professional level [***].  Perhaps I should have consulted books from my reference library…. 🙂

Weldons Encyclopedia of Needlework (1940)

Weldons Encyclopedia of Needlework (1940)

With the same great yarn, I also mended some minor spots in a wool cardigan bought (not really cheap) from a local charity shop. I forgot to take a proper photo of the cardi, but here below you can see it while taking a bath 🙂

Cardigan taking a bath before mending and reuse

Cardigan taking a bath before mending and reuse

and while I’m at it, here is a gratuitous snap of the sheep skin hat (£1 second hand), also enjoying a bit of soaking in the bubbly bath…

IMG_4070

I sense that I have a crash on natural shades at the moment, it must be the sheep influence… baaaaa

farm tin, note the ♡ sheep ♡

farm tin, note the ♡ sheep ♡

It’s getting late, the update on the knitting WIPs will have to go in the next one.

Sweet dreams xx

 

[***]  surfing the net, I came across this UK based company who provides professional mending services: British Invisible Mending. If anyone is in the look for repairing a special item, they may be an option to consider. I think they also do mail orders for those who can’t visit their premises. (Small print: as usual, it’s not an ad and I take no commission out of this!)

 

17 thoughts on “repairing

  1. happyface313 says:

    Such a pretty blanket – great repair job you’re doing there! 🙂

  2. Flora Poste says:

    Such a gorgeous blanket of good quality deserves the mending! I agree with you, it worth while NOT to buy new for many reasons. And that tin is so cute. Hugs from across the pond!

  3. slippedstitches says:

    Fabulous work on the blanket. I love to repair, refinish and reimagine old furniture…the kind made with real wood. The desire to repair is partly what made the Crazy Quilt phase in the Victorian era. I have one my great-grandmother worked on through her years. The needle work, colors, do dads and such just work so beautifully. It was used in her house even when I was a child. I sat and looked at that quilt for hours. I totally support the caring for old textiles.

    • itwasjudith says:

      Thank you!
      I completely agree with your point of view. Isn’t it amazing when things made with care last over the years and are passed down in the family? I don’t have such old items, but still have woollen blankets made by my mum years ago. I would never give them away. In fact, I just thought of an old 70s blouse, which I meant to “restore” somehow… 🙂
      Also, thanks for the Crazy Quilt reference, I wasn’t aware of that style – learnt something new

  4. Forest So Green says:

    I also like tartans, I think mending is such a great skill to know, you have many talents, Annie

    • itwasjudith says:

      Thank you, Annie, that is really kind!
      Mine was an improvised mending. I was even pondering whether I should knit a patch to apply on 😉 a (n even more) visible mending…

  5. alisonsye says:

    I love the blanket, and you have done a great job of mending it. 🙂

  6. […] in Hampstead who usually has some interesting things at reasonable prices (that’s were the tartan blanket from my previous post comes from). I found some more […]

  7. Martha says:

    I always feel helpless when I come across a damage of this sort in a piece of garment I like or an item like blanket or curtain etc.
    Good repairing skills is something useful. I cant imagine that women in the past used to repair thin and thick tights – how fiddly. My nan used to use a light bulb to repair her husband’s socks 🙂

  8. homeiswheretherootslead.wordpress.com says:

    Reblogged this on homeiswheretherootslead.wordpress.com.

Leave a Reply

