more beginnings

With the first day of the week, I deemed it suitable to start a few new things: (another woolly post)

Fleeces

You may remember from this post that I talked about Bowmont and Lincoln Longwool. The washing of the raw fleeces has begun: being my first attempt and being new to the process, it will probably take ages to complete all; additionally I need to be careful to avoid felting.

The detergent used is a natural washing up liquid by Ecover. I started by rinsing the ends under running cold water, gently opening the locks up by pulling the fibres sideway – this way, most of the vegetable matter and natural dirt came off before soaking. I didn’t take many photos because my hands were too busy, but I snapped a few before sunset.

Lincoln Longwool fleece before washing

Lincoln Longwool fleece before washing

Lincoln Longwool fleece soaking

Lincoln Longwool fleece soaking

I will show more pictures once the fleece will be dry. The next, I will “only” need to figure out how to use my vintage spinning wheel!

New project: Elder Father knee caps

I started knitting some knee caps for my father, using a vintage pattern from KnitHeaven.com. The days are growing colder and something to keep joints warm can be really useful. As a tribute to Wovember (Raverly group here), I’m using a 95/5% merino-cashmere yarn.

Elder Father: knee caps from vintage pattern

Elder Father: knee caps from vintage pattern

Cashmere-merino yarn in beige-celeste

Cashmere-merino yarn in beige-celeste, used for the project

Other vintage free patterns for knee caps on Vintage Knitting Patterns and Vintage Knits, who very kindly also offers other free vintage patterns.

Fibre tutorials & TV programme

Recently, I came across some free tutorials on SpinningDaily.com:

KnitMyStash wrote a great post on knitting programmes finally making an appearance on the TV landscape:

  • Programme on the worl-record attempt (shear-to-product) by a Norwegian team, thanks to the “slow TV” format now being presented on Norwegian television. I watched the first part and found it very educational as I could see it all happen minute-by-minute. Another reason to love Norway! For the moment there is no English translation, but it’s not really needed as the images talk by themselves.

They’re a very interesting reading/watching if you want to start working with fibres, or are relatively new to it.

8 thoughts on “more beginnings

  1. vuchickens says:

    Thanks for posting the links!!! I’m new to fiber processing, so they are very helpful. Your Longwool locks are lovely, and so is that scrumptious yarn! 🙂

    • itwasjudith says:

      You’re very welcome 🙂 I stumbled upon them when I was looking for some “guidance” myself to make sense of it all….
      The yarn was a lucky find, bought at a very reasonable price

  2. Flora Poste says:

    Thank you for all those links to patterns and tv shows: great! So nice to follow your projects, ♥ Johanna

  3. slippedstitches says:

    I love the look of the long wool. The references are great, thanks for sharing them. I too love vintage patterns and had never heard of knee caps. I do have a question, when soaking the wool you neatly laid it out in strips in a sieve or colander. Why is that? Why not just lay them in the water alone? I am very interested in the process of real wool preparing to be real yarn.

    • itwasjudith says:

      I am a newbie to the fleece handling and really just trying to figure things out as I go 🙂
      The main thing with the colander is that it allows to easily sink into or lift from water the locks. These locks are very long and could easily tangle in water. By positioning them along the colander edges, it keeps them in place. It also allow to easily move from soapy solution to clear rinsing water, without having to handle the locks one by one.
      Also, I’ve used cold water, but have seen many posts where people have gone the opposite way – scorching hot water. Not sure I’d try with expensive fleece like this, though…. I’ll post more pictures of the clean locks and some links to other people’s methods 🙂
      Hope this helps, thank you!

Leave a Reply

