River Pebbles

At the moment I don’t feel like working on complex projects. Although I still love my Thistle WIP, I casted on a new work. The air is getting cooler, Christmas is approaching, thus it’s a great idea to work on small and quick knits… don’t you agree?

I’ve already winded some of my skeins in yarn cakes, which will make it easier to start a small project on the go. The first that I put to use is a BFL yarn from Skein Queen: Tweedore in River Pebbles.

The River Pebbles project is a small-sized cowl, the pattern is Tina-ease Cowl by Tina Turner, in the 4 ply (fingering) version. I’ll probably do 3 repeats, but see how it grows – ideally, it should sit snuggly around the neck.

My River Pebbles WIP

Skein Queen Tweedore in River Pebbles River Pebbles with real pebbles from my trips

Rowan Colourscape Chunky in Frosty

Rowan Colourscape Chunky in Frosty

Rowan Colourscape Chunky in Frosty

Fur Wool & Maxi Wool by Eirka Knight, kit for Welly Toppers

Fur Wool & Maxi Wool by Eirka Knight, kit for Welly Toppers

Fur Wool & Maxi Wool by Eirka Knight, kit for Welly Toppers

The Bowmont and Lincoln Longwool I ordered has just arrived… it definitely smells sheepy!!! It’s in its raw fleece state and needs thorough cleaning – I will have to be very careful not to felt the wool in the process. Bowmont is a very rare sheep, the result of a careful breeding selection that lasted years and there are only a few flocks in the world (all in the UK). The staple is approx 14-15 micron – I’m no expert, but apparently this is an exceptional quality. You can read more about their story on Devon Fine Fibres.

Bowmont sheep, photo from Devon Fine Fibres

Bowmont fleece_Devon Fine Fibres

Bowmont sheep and fleece, photos from Devon Fine Fibres

Bowmont raw fleece

Bowmont raw fleece

Lincoln Longwool is another rare British sheep. You can visit the official site for the Lincoln Longwool sheep breeders association to read more about it and for some cute sheepy pictures 🙂

Lincoln sheep

Lincoln sheep, photo from The Pagan Homesteader website

Lincoln Longwool raw fleece

Lincoln Longwool fleece, the locks are approx 30-32 cm long unstretched (!)

Oh, my recent trend of buying vintage has continued, but more on that soon 🙂

4 thoughts on “River Pebbles

  1. kiwiyarns says:

    Wow…. 14 – 15 micron!?? That’s super fine! I bet it will feel amazingly super soft.

  2. Flora Poste says:

    Nice, cozy and wooly photo’s ;0)

  3. […] may remember from this post that I talked about Bowmont and Lincoln Longwool. The washing of the raw fleeces has begun: being […]

Leave a Reply

