wee update

I’ve been busy with uni-related stuff lately, so no knitting happened. But I did look at knitting and yarns… in fact, the number of favourites and items in my raverly queue has grown out of proportion!

A little overview on what I’ve been up to:

Knitting

I’ve completed my Lazy Sunday market bag, included a strawberry ribbon and crocheted extra hanging leaves. I just have to saw the leaves in. I’ll include the details in a future post, once I have the FO pics. Meanwhile, if curious, you can have a sneaky look at my raverly project (no raverly log in should be needed).

Patterns

…an ever growing list! Currently, I faved over 200 patterns and in total over 300 things including projects and designers. The queue is heading towards the 3-digit size. So much for being a new-be in the Ravelry world… I wonder what other users’ numbers are, not that it’s a competition of any sort. Perhaps a “more making, less looking” approach would be beneficial. At the top of my queue there are now mostly decorative items (strange of me), geeky patterns, and sheep-themed patterns (surprise!). I would post the pattern pictures, but not sure whether this would be causing any copyright issue.. anyone that knows about it?

Yarn

I acquired more yarn (as if it was ever needed..).

  • Loop the Loop by Stylecraft: this is one of big ♡. Nicola, a generous and extremely kind raveler, donated me six balls in the cream shade (and even sent a pattern!). I can’t tell you how nice it is of her! As a little thank-you, I am making a donation to a charity. Further, I got hold of Loop the Loop in black and ruby. I’m in woolly heaven…

Loop the Loop in CreamLoop the Loop in RubyLoop the Loop black

  • Other pure wool yarns: I like to have a bit of variety, so with current budget restraints I buy less renowned or sought after, one-off deals!

Emu Superwash Tweeds DK Wendy Kintyre DK Green

Blog awards

A few kind fellow bloggers have nominated my blog, and a thank-you post is due sometime soon! I value your nomination, but I’m sorry to say that I’m really bad at this, especially with question answering and asking… Please don’t be upset that I don’t follow up on the nominations!

Other crafts

I’ve been looking at weaving and sewing resources and tutorials, as they always held a fascination on me. But I just don’t have the time and energy to start right now…

I think that’s it for now! Have a great rest of the week

PS WordPress just showed a message on my post informing me that “Occasionally, some of your visitors may see an advertisement here.”. I would like to highlight that this is not because I participate in a WordAd program to earn money, but rather because I haven’t purchased their NoAds Upgrade. If you’re interested in knowing more background details, please read their page: About These Ads.

28 thoughts on “wee update

  1. Flora Poste says:

    Great posts and nice links! I really do not know about copyrights, but giving a link would honour the creator,I think?
    Lookingforward the see your finished Lazy Sunday Market Bag! ♥ Johanna

    • itwasjudith says:

      Thank you Johanna 🙂
      I wanted to include images of the linked items in my post, so readers could easily see what the linked page contains, but I’m not sure whether using in my blog images from other people’s patterns would create issues. For this reason, I didn’t include the images this time.
      Just saw your new post, heading there to read it.
      Love & hugs, Judith

      • I included pictures from ravelry pattern pages before and didn’t have any problems with it. If you want to be really on the sure side you can always ask the pattern owners on ravelry if they are fine with you posting their pictures but I guess as long as the pictures link to the respective pattern it is advertisement for the pattern owners and I personally wouldn’t mind for example.

      • itwasjudith says:

        Thank you for sharing your experience!
        That’s a good idea, I’ll contact them and if they’re not happy I can always remove the pic from the post 🙂

  2. soknitsome says:

    Congrats on the blog awards.

  3. Febr12 says:

    I totally understand about Ravelry and the explosion of queued objects. It’s so tempting, isn’t it ?
    No worries about the award! From my point of view, the most important message is to show appreciation for what your doing and let others know.
    Have a nice day!

    • itwasjudith says:

      Many thanks for your understanding and support 🙂 I’m really sorry to be bad at following up but I really struggle with the process….
      The good thing about the ravelry queue is that it’s easy to have an overview of the items you want to knit at some point and move things up and down 🙂
      Have a great day too!

  4. leovlad says:

    I completely sympathize with you about pattern overload. I keep buying/favoriting/keeping patterns so much that I feel like I don’t give them the attention they deserve. I think I need to set a firm to-do and then ‘ration’ my pattern shopping. Oh life is soooo hard for a knitter.

    • itwasjudith says:

      it is, indeed 😉
      now my own little strategy is not to actually buy any pattern until i commit to making a real project out of it…
      I keep my freedom with faving, but limit the expenses.
      And you’re right, we often don’t give patterns the attention they deserve for the skills that have been used to create those beauty.

  5. kiwiyarns says:

    I spend waaaay to much time every day oggling the pretty things to knit on Ravelry. It’s such a great tool to finding nice patterns and great designers. PS. Also got the same message as you about the ads. It’s a bit grim.

  6. MasonBentley says:

    I’m just impressed you can read those patterns! xxx

  7. Martha says:

    It’s good that you’re enjoying raverly website. You are with the knitting patterns like me with the cross stitch charts – I can collect and collect and collect … 🙂 when on earth am I going to stitch all of that??!

    I’m trying to do some knitting in the evening these days but I get distracted by cross stitch and cards so i have to divide my time and now I have a commission for some personalized julekuler 🙂

    • itwasjudith says:

      Yes, that’s the down side of hand-making… it takes long to (hand) make things, so we have to allocate our spare time across the crafts that interest us 🙂

      Also, I came to the conclusion that I just like to collect some things (patterns, fabrics, wool, haberdashery, etc…..). I now can safely define myself as a hoarder

      Congratulations for the commission! I hope that you will post some pics after you will have delivered the FO 🙂

  8. Good luck with all your projects, and thank you for these awesome links, I like especially robot:)
    Have a good rest of the week

  9. Forest So Green says:

    The yarn shop is like a candy store for me 🙂 Annie

  10. Hi thank you for comment on my blog, have a good week:)

Leave a Reply

