Kitsch? Vintage!

(A post rich in pictures)

A recent trove of mines was a stack of vintage craft magazines from the 80s – a real bargain. There are knitted items, as well as crochet, cross stitch and other crafts.

But one of the magazines is Fashion Knits, 4th edition (late 50s/early 60s). The patterns are very typical from that period: I have memories of old photos of my aunts and mother dressed in a similar fashion, although much more simple.

I have to admit having a soft spot for folksy (even kitschy) items. Maybe it’s because of my past stay in the very traditional Tirol (Austria)? Further, these 80s magazines remind me of my late mother and my childhood. Anyway, it doesn’t really matter! That’s one of the many sides of me, with ‘many’ applied in a very extensive way.

Together with the magazines, I also got some Arthur Sanderson fabric, a lovely find, Mandarin Flowers… But that will have to be for another post, perhaps one focused on fabrics, together with other linen purchases. I’m not sure why I keep purchasing fabric as I don’t have a sewing machine here – suffice to say that fabrics is another soft spots of mine… if you have been following my blog for a while, you’ll have got the idea by now 🙂

Now, I can hear you asking what I will make out of these. I don’t know… and I won’t commit to any potential projects yet 😉

24 thoughts on “Kitsch? Vintage!

  1. I love the elegance of the models inFashion Knits – and you can spot the 80’s designs a mile off, just from the shoulder pads and hairstyles!

  2. Flora Poste says:

    How enjoyed looking at these pictures! I am a shameless lover of the Kitch! I stopped contemplating why…it is a mystery to me too;0) But I do know I like the well dressed, clean and elegant look from older fashion photo’s: I am always baffled by the bedraggled hairstyles and faces full of chagrin and torn jeans of the present day( and no…I am NOT old;0))
    I had to laugh when I noticed that one photo of the manly man protecting his lady whilst wearing flowery suspenders and a red tie! And ,dear Judith,of course the Dutch embroidery…talking of childhood memories;0) You see: that’s how much fun these magazines bring! Thanks for sharing and hugs from Ohio!

    • itwasjudith says:

      Thank you Johanna, that’s exactly the reason why I shared 🙂 it is so much fun to look at those old pages and the memories that come with it.
      Obviously there are also many of the role stereotypes (like the man protecting the lady). It’s actually funny that although I don’t believe in set roles and labels for people, i do enjoy such kitsch things… as you said, mystery 😉
      Have a lovely day and hugs back from afar,
      Judith

    • itwasjudith says:

      I did think of you when I first saw the Dutch embroidery 😉

  3. Ah, this is the kind of thing — all the way back to the 50s — that makes me a lover of needlework. I remember my first embroidery, 48 years ago. And just as my grandmother never lost her sense of fashion from the 20s and 30s, and my mother clung to the styles of the 40s and 50s, I’m afraid I’ll always be influenced by what I thought was beautiful during the 70s and 80s. p.s. I also thought of Johanna when I saw the Dutch embroidery!

  4. slippedstitches says:

    I really enjoy your blog and nominated you for this award http://slippedstitches.files.wordpress.com/2013/09/one_lovely_blog_award.jpg?w=249

  5. rubyfoot says:

    although the style of the photos looks a bit dated and cheesy, there are some fabulous design details in most of these pieces

    • itwasjudith says:

      yes, the photos are clearly from another time (which gives me an unreasonable nostalgic feeling).
      Despite the setting being dated, most of the items could still be used nowadays, with some adaptations. I liked the “folky” feel of some of the items, too.
      thanks for visiting 🙂

  6. MasonBentley says:

    Aren’t they fabulous! I love them.. x

  7. Martha says:

    Treasures, not kitch! I drooled when I saw those red mittens and other noridic-looking cross stitch and knits! 😀
    If you ever wanna get rid of them, I’m the first in the queue 🙂 seriously.

    where do the patterns for those mittens come from? I wonder if its possible to find them anywhere these days

    • itwasjudith says:

      Let me know which ones in particular and I will see how to source them 🙂

      Just today I was visiting my local rubber stamp shop and thought of you as they had many* things for card-making

      * I mean, many for being a small independent shop

      • Martha says:

        thank you! i just emailed you. it didnt bounce back so i hope the email i typed in was correct 🙂

        awww that’s nice when people associate me with certain crafts / projects. i just love stamps and card making in general. and i also love craft shops 😀 always on the lookout for some bits and bobs. love experimenting plus combining techniques and favourite themes. a stamp addict too.
        did you buy anything interesting? thinking of making your own cards? 😀

      • itwasjudith says:

        My budget at the moment is under some restraints, so I only bought a few things at the shop – two small rubber stamps, assorted little ribbons, paper tags, some spooky stickers. I was lucky because most of the items were really inexpensive (at least for London) 🙂
        The idea is to use them if/when I give a knitted present, to add a personalised tag and nice ribbon string.

        I’ll check my mailbox and I’ll let you if the email didn’t arrive – but I’m sure it did 🙂 talk soon and good night!

      • itwasjudith says:

        email received 🙂 I’ll work on the patterns this weekend and reply soon
        xxx

    • itwasjudith says:

      About the mittens: perhaps we could email to talk about how you can get hold of the pattern? 🙂

Leave a Reply

