A history of London in pictures: the Hampstead Heath

Hampstead Heath, also locally known as The Heath, is an ancient natural park situated in North London, not very far from the Camden Town area. While Camden has a rather alternative flavour, the area of Hampstead Village is on the posh side. On one side of the heath, there is Hampstead Village, which has a long history and beautiful old houses. On the other side, there is Highgate Village, with its beautiful historic cemeteries (Karl Marx lies there).

The Heath has a gracious mix of various landscapes and landmarks: it includes beautiful woods, grassy hilly areas with breathtaking views on London, ponds, swimming ponds, bird areas, Kenwood House, a lido and some playgrounds.

Here it follows a gallery of views and places in the Heath and its surroundings (the photos are taken with my iPhone, so the quality is not the highest really!)

The area is really extensive and there is another set of photos taken in the surroundings of the Heath, including the Pergola, Whitestone, the Observatory and Hampstead Village… but that will have to be another post!

25 thoughts on “A history of London in pictures: the Hampstead Heath

  1. slippedstitches says:

    I really enjoyed the pictures. Thanks for sharing them.

  2. Cinn says:

    Thank you for sharing your trip with us. Great photos.

    • itwasjudith says:

      Thank you!
      I hadn’t really planned to take pictures, hence I used the mobile phone camera – better than nothing 🙂 It’s a lovely area to walk, it doesn’t feel like being in central london

  3. Pia says:

    I always regretted not making it there when I was in London, so I’d love to see more pix.

    • itwasjudith says:

      It’s a nice area, but it’s not often included in the usual sightseeings, possibly because it can take up quite a long time to visit and also it’s not as widely known as other attractions. I have some more pictures, they should go in another post in the near future 🙂

  4. Does “heath” mean “park”?

    • itwasjudith says:

      Sort of. According to google:
      An area of open uncultivated land, esp. in Britain, with characteristic vegetation of heather, gorse and coarse grasses.
      Vegetation dominated by dwarf shrubs of the heath family: “heath vegetation”.
      Synonyms
      heather – moor – moorland

      Hope this helps 🙂

  5. Febr12 says:

    How beautiful, it’s hard to imagine this in a big and crowdy city like London. Beautiful pictures!

    • itwasjudith says:

      Thank you 🙂
      Yes, it’s surprising to think that this is not far from the hectic city centre (still within the central tube zones, also easily reachable by bus). I enjoy walking there, even just for some hours – luckily is not far from where we live..

  6. Flora Poste says:

    Dear Judith, thank you for ‘taking me on a walk with you!’ I so enjoyed it and the photo’s are beautiful. I am looking forward to your next post about London.

    • itwasjudith says:

      Dear Johanna,
      Many thanks for your reading and comment 🙂 I like reading other people’s “travel” posts and looking at the pics, so I thought to share the ones from yesterday’s walk.
      Hugs, Judith

  7. Febr12 says:

    I would like to let you know that I have nominated your blog for the Liebster Award! Your blog deserves to be discovered by many other people.
    Love,
    Febr12

  8. Martha says:

    It looks like a nice place. The photo collages are a nice additions to the blog posts 🙂

  9. Thank you so much for these pictures! I have always loved the London of literature, and have dreamed of visiting — but wondered if I would just mourn for the lost history. This post is fascinating!

  10. Great pics and a lovely walk through the heath…love Hampstead village and Highgate too…great post.

  11. I like your layout, and the photographs. And thank you for following me, Bradshaw in hand, as I too explore London at http://londondiaryblog.wordpress.com

    • itwasjudith says:

      You’re welcome! I came across your blog from its mention on another blog and I liked the exploring – some of these places are very familiar to me – plus I also understand the grief that initiated it all.
      Look forward to reading your future posts and hope the exploration will help your spirit
      Thank you for visiting 🙂

Leave a Reply

