Thistle, the beginning

Recently, Emily Wessel of Tin Can Knits came out with a new pattern book: Handmade in the UK, which contains many cute lace items knitted in artisan local yarns. Emily, who was born in Canada but lives in Edinburgh, was inspired in her work by the landscape and nature surrounding her new home. Being myself a lover of local produce, ordering the book was an opportunity to support one of the skilled designers working in the UK and thus I ordered both the ebook and the print version.

After long pondering, I am going to attempt a lace scarf (if it comes nicely, I’d also like to try in the larger version as a stole): Thistlewhich is the flower of Scotland and one of my favourite.

Because I have a huge stash, I prefer to use one of the yarns I already have rather than the one suggested in the pattern. Thus I’m knitting with a pure Shetland 2-ply in double strand on needles size 3mm. I also changed to a shade that I prefer – a fairly vibrant purple, which you may remember from my previous post on Shetland yarns. Changing the weight of the yarn and the size of the needles, I slightly modified the pattern by adding a few more repeats for each row.

So far, I only started the border and am now about to begin with the lace pattern. I’m curios to see how it will come out in the yarn of choice. In any case, it will probably take me ages (if) before it’s completed!

A first shot of the beginning….. wish me luck 🙂

Image

19 thoughts on “Thistle, the beginning

  1. Flora Poste says:

    Ohlala, I like that yarn and color! I find lace knitting very relaxing because it needs full attention and it sort of empties my mind:0) Coincidentally: I started a stole, not in lace but it is a large one so there is sincere danger of a long dragging process while at the same I picture myself already wearing it already so stylish come winter! Maybe we can support each other;0) Thanks for the link to Emily Wessel! hugs from Ohio, Johanna.

    • itwasjudith says:

      Hello Johanna and thanks for your comment! It’s a great idea, let us support and inspire each other along the way 🙂 hopefully we will be both able to wear our new items when the season sets in 😉 I like Tin Can Knits’ style, it’s elegant and simple at the same time, easy to wear… and they’re both Canadian!
      Hugs back, J

  2. Flora Poste says:

    ps I love that photo too!

  3. Martha says:

    Hello again! Lovely to see you blogging again and I was happy to see a new blog post of yours in my blog roll 🙂 Also, thank you for visiting my place.

    I’m very curious what your lacey scarf going to come out. The colour is lovely – deep, sexy and feminine 😉 well, at least I like to think of it that way 🙂 I like your idea with the metal colander and of course evnvious of that Shetland yarn stash.

    • itwasjudith says:

      Hello Martha, thanks for your words 🙂 the colander is an old find of mine at a local charity… i just loved it, now i’m using it with my yarns.
      It was so long that I wanted to try something with the Shetland and thought this was the right shade for the Thistle 🙂 so, i hope that it will become a FO, like your beautiful poppy!
      Take care xxxx

  4. Q says:

    Q – Good luck! 😎 I love the thistle!

  5. Febr12 says:

    What a beautiful color that is! I’ve never used Shetland before, but it looks so nice. Wish you all the best with that lace, I look forward to seeing the result😉

  6. Gorgeous colour. The vibrancy of the Scottish thistle in full flower?

  7. belesamablue says:

    That scarf is stunning! Can’t wait to see it finished (and I totally sympathise with how long it will take, I always start projects like this!)
    Good luck 🙂

    • itwasjudith says:

      LOL, thank you!
      In fact, I already met the first issues, but a kind friend helped with fixing them. So I hope to make some more progress today.
      Thanks for visiting back 🙂

  8. […] the recent days there have been a few hic-ups, but the Thistle scarf has finally made some progress. I completed the first repeat of the lace section. Six more to […]

  9. I love your use of the colander.

  10. Lovely (and appropriate) colour yarn for the Thistle pattern. I agree with Needle to Needle – an inspired use of the colander, I must try that out…

    • itwasjudith says:

      I had been thinking for a while what pattern to make with that colour and then finally I came across this perfect scarf. The thistle is such a beautiful wild flower, isn’t it?
      I just happened to have that colander laying around, the yarn almost fell into it by itself 😉 As the idea is very practical, I got another one out of my kitchen….
      Thank you for visiting!

Leave a Reply

