new members in the reference library

While in the UK it’s a long weekend (May bank holiday), the weather decided to turn its back on us. Yesterday was a lovely early summer day and today, when I woke up at dawn, the sky appeared to promise turning blue. I was good and did some reading for my exams. In the meanwhile, the weather forecast announced chances of rain and the sky turned grey.. sob.

So, the planned visit to the Observatory in Greenwich was postponed. Ok, then I can check for some books online, at least. I hopped through various (web)pages and ordered a few things. I also checked in my wish list if any of the items were available at a reduced price and a few were, indeed. Having found some nice books at a bargain price (and mostly in hardcover, easier to consult when knitting) comforted me from the weather hic-up!

Please let me introduce you to the latest members in my reference library:

Image

Celtic Animals Charted Designs by Ina Kliffen: the patterns are originally meant for needlework, but apparently can be adapted to a range of other crafts. I liked those intricate animal pictures and finding a cheap new copy, I jumped at the opportunity.

55 Christmas Balls to Knit, Arne and Carlos

55 Christmas Balls to Knit by Arne and Carlos: this is already a classic and very popular among Nordic style lovers. It has been mentioned (and knitted) in many blogs, so you may be already familiar with it. If not, it’s a good reference for Christmas decorations (mainly balls, but not only).  Finding a second hand copy for about £5 including postage, meant that it was inevitable to order it (grin).

The Complete Book of Knitting, Barbara Abbey

The Complete Book of Knitting [hardcover] by Barbara Abbey: I had borrowed this book from the local library and found its final section of 200 pattern stitches (with detailed instructions) not to be missed. I found a used copy at a bargain price, so this was a win-win sit. Already found inspiring things to try, especially for my swatching project.

The Complete Book of Traditional Knitting [Hardcover], Rae Compton

The Complete Book of Traditional Knitting [hardcover] by Rae Compton: its index includes many key words (according to my vocabulary): Shetland and Fair Isle, Britain, Iceland and the Faroe Islands, Sweden, Norway, Central Europe, Northern Lace, Patterns from East and West, Traditional Patterns. Being a relatively old book (early 80s) it’s not one of the many that just came out after the surge of interest in the knitting community… Thus it sounded like a genuine good read. After looking inside the book and finding a(nother) bargain copy, I had to order it.

[disclainer: I’m not earning commissions on the books listed here. I just linked to Amazon because they offer the ‘Look Inside’ preview feature, which can help getting an idea of how the book is like]

13 thoughts on “new members in the reference library

  1. MasonBentley says:

    Just to let you know – I have nominated you for a much deserved Sunshine Award – hop back to mine for more info! x

    • itwasjudith says:

      Thank you! that is so kind (and unexpected!)…. I will try my best but I’m really bad with questions (especially answering them)… have a great long weekend xxx

  2. Martha says:

    Lovely choice of book – read the blog post with pleasure.
    and uh uh – someone will be knitting their balls always :))))
    Looking forward to seeing your first xmas julekuler.
    The book with celtic motifs looks intriguing – I buy some of these too – they are a good source of patterns for my glass painting 🙂

    • itwasjudith says:

      thanks 🙂 aren’t Arne and Carlos so cute with their little balls and DPNs in male hands? I’m glad to see more and more men taking up crafts – I don’t believe in “compartments” between women and men in any activity. What books have you on Celtic patterns for your glass art?

      • Martha says:

        oh yes! the book cover is definitely not only appealing but also amusing. i must say it did catch my attention when i spotted it on amazon 🙂 you just dont see knitting men like these two much these days but apparently in scandinavia knitting is a bit like a national sport so it’s normal that both women and men knit there. and anyway what could you do during those dark and long winter days?

        as for the celtic motifs i use mostly books with black and white outlines that are for glass painters and other crafters.
        a couple of titles for eg.
        – Celtic Designs by courtney davis (search press, Design Source Book)
        -101 celtic borders by courtney davis (D &C)
        -the complete book of celtic designs by judy balchin (search press)

      • itwasjudith says:

        yes, knitting makes sense with long and cold winters 🙂
        thanks for the Celtic book titles, I’m going to look out for them right now! Just got delivered the Celtic Animals book today.. so much to look at this summer… 🙂

  3. Martha says:

    I meant: knitting their balls away* 🙂

  4. Flora Poste says:

    Arne and Calos books are great! For the past two Christmases, I have been knitting up a storm with these cute balls. They make great little presents and a nice ‘carry-on-knitting-project’. Have you seen there other two books on dolls and flowers? Equally quirky! Johanna

    • itwasjudith says:

      haven’t seen the other books yet, but gave their Easter Eggs one as a present to a good friend. I’m still awaiting the Christmas one to be delivered and then try some out 🙂

    • Martha says:

      the newest crochet garden flowers book by A & C (an english version) not released yet. it will be out in september this year.
      you can preorder now on amazon

  5. Flora Poste says:

    Yes…we have to be patient;0( So in the meantime I’ll keep on knitting x-mas balls;0)

Leave a Reply

