DIY mini blocking board

Reading knitters’ posts, now and again I came across talks about the blocking process and some reference to blocking boards (apparently expensive).

Yesterday I had done a small washing test on a Shetland swatch and wanted to “block” it in shape… hm… but had no board for it. The thought of braving the city centre to try and source one on a Sunday wasn’t really appealing, so I thought about how I could accomplish a similar result. My swatches (or other small accessories) wouldn’t need a large and sturdy board… hm.

Raw materials for the mini blocking board

Then my eyes fall on a bit of spongy-like protective packaging that was laying on the side (for future reuse). Could I make something out of it? I only needed a quality sturdy piece of fabric to go on its surface – by coincidence I just had such a thing, or at least something that could temporary fit the bill. Ta-da! With no expense, I had my very own mini blocking board.. love it.

A thick foam sheet and a fabric cloth are all that's needed

Image Image

Of course this mini board only suits smaller items, but that’s enough for my current needs. I’d be curious to hear your stories about blocking boards – do you use them, what type do you have, where did you source it?

2 thoughts on “DIY mini blocking board

  1. Curls & Q says:

    Q – Great idea. I just got some of that protective packaging today in an item I ordered. Perfect timing!

Leave a Reply

