of roses and random little objects

Some time ago, walking in Hampstead Village on a lazy afternoon, I sighted some little things and brought them home with me.

The first was a little rose plant with five blossoms in a tender pale cream with pink undertones – one of my favourite flower colours. Weeks into her new stay, the rose was rehoused in a larger green pot and unexpectedly (I by no means have a green thumb) thrived fairly well on the little place by the window. In recent days, the last of its blossoms, it was the tiniest one, surprised and showed us its beautiful heart in a shade of pale antique pink. As nothing lasts, although we wish so, I took a few pictures of my little rose, hoping to capture its tender appearance in an immutable form. Rationally, I am aware that it is a futile exercise, because change is a constant that we ought to accept as natural and even embrace. Following this first theme, my mind brought back Nick Cave’s ‘Where the Wild Roses Grow‘, inspired by the traditional song ‘Down in the Willow Garden’; his music has a fascinating mix of dark and romantic tones and I truly recommend his ‘Murder Ballads’ record. Sadly this song is about the killing of a beautiful woman.

my pale sweet rose

IMG_1446

Pale Rose Petals wool

The Little Prince and his Rose by ~lulii13omgtribute to The Little Prince and his Rose by lulii13omg, from Deviant Art

Carefully carrying my little rose around, back on that day we first met, we went on to visit a little covered vintage market. It was late in the day and some of the stalls were already packing their items. I stopped by a table with a couple of little boxes, you know those with an assorted mix of random things in them, to see what really there was inside. I carefully chose a few little curious objects, some old buttons and cuff links (?), a pin brooch, a necklace clasp, some 70s brooch, a green brush, a little metal whistle and a horn crochet hook (it must be an old one). The seller had plenty of high-end items at the stand, so I guess it was almost a relief to give away some of this no-name pieces… so I got my little shopping bag for a very inexpensive price – which is a good way to keep quiet that little voice of guilt, deep down there.

IMG_0583IMG_0585IMG_0586IMG_0588IMG_0592IMG_0593IMG_0603IMG_0605

I am not sure how these little things will be put to use one day, but I enjoyed choosing them and making a place for them in a cute little box of mine. A bit silly, isn’t it?

6 thoughts on “of roses and random little objects

  1. ScrapAndSalvage says:

    “…but my name was elisa day”!!!!! oh how i LOVE me some nick cave. that entire album is one of my all time favorites. i could sit and quote lyric after lyric here and never get bored! you made my day 🙂

    plus i love the little bobbles you got, especially that green comb! great finds.

  2. itwasjudith says:

    I don’t know his lyrics by heart, but his music is deeply fascinating and i also love his look! i believe he lives in the UK at this time?

    I just like to dig around and find some strange old objects, just because.. sometimes i wonder what’s the story behind them, if we could only read their “minds” 🙂

  3. MasonBentley says:

    I would have done the same.. xxx

  4. Anami Blog says:

    That Nick Cave song is a wonderful one, I remember how much I already loved it when I was a teenager and spoke no English, but the melody itself was so capturing, had some darkness and mystery within. Loved reading your post and looking at your wonderful images 🙂

    • itwasjudith says:

      Thanks, that’s really kind of you 🙂 I think both his music and his lyrics are fascinating.. while ago i was reading a bit about the story of his life and it was quite impressive! definitely a person out of the norm. I only wish I had seen one of his concerts… maybe in the future!

Leave a Reply

