Wooden reels

A few days ago, I wrote a short post on my “new” old wooden reels. I just took some pictures which you will find here below.

I’m looking for ideas to store the thread in a lean and accessible way… at the moment they’re sadly homed in a box, so if you have ideas or want to tell how you dealt with this, please leave a comment 🙂

Please also tell about if you know any of the stories behind these threads – they mostly seem to be made in Great Britain, so they must be fairly old!

Have a lovely weekend xx

my reels chess boardImage

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

close-ups of the makers information [maybe I should research them at some point]

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

7 thoughts on “Wooden reels

  1. MasonBentley says:

    These are beautiful – good luck with the scarves…post a pic when they are finished! XXX

  2. itwasjudith says:

    thanks! my new scarves may be too on the thin side for the pillow restyling – but they have lovely summery colours, so see what reuse can be done out of it.. xx btw, I found them in Islington’s small market

  3. ScrapAndSalvage says:

    wow. these are great! not only are the thread colors amazing, the wooden spools are charming. they would look great in a little glass curio. either way, great practical and aesthetics find!

  4. itwasjudith says:

    Thanks 🙂 That’s a really good idea to store them and protect from dust! I now got a “fever” about old wooden reels, it must be the texture and the look of the aged wood that I can’t resist… time makes them unique, doesn’t it? I just found a few more, awaiting to receive them…

  5. […] ebay, charity and market finds). For a quick refresh on some more of my stash, see this old post: Wooden Reels (no, this isn’t it all, and yes, they’re still stored in boxes). If I ever need a […]

Leave a Reply

