Quirky jewellery at the Old Spitalfields Market

Today the sun made a benevolent appearance and given its scarce presence in spring this year, I took this opportunity to brave the cold and visit the Old Spitalfields Market. According to Wikipedia, this has been the site of a market since the early XVII century and was then located in a rural area in the outskirts of London. [Edit: recently they discovered a Roman cemetery on the site]. Nowadays it’s in the heart of the city and hosts fashion, speciality food and vintage markets, with different themes for the various days of the week. I didn’t take any pictures of the market to avoid delays, but I promise I will in my next visit!

I’ve been living in this city for quite some time (years) now, but this is the first time me visiting a fashion market, if we exclude the neighbouring one in Camden Town (shame on me). This is really strange indeed, given that I love all vintage happenings, flea markets and anything where one can find the unique item, accessory or something that can be later included in a new creation. Let’s blame the fact that in these years I’ve been really busy with my studies and work.. smile.

So, on this sunny-but-cold Saturday, my partner volunteered to accompany me to the market – knowing that I would end up in endless searches and scrutiny of what on offer, it was a brave decision. Thus, I am grateful for that, as I did bring home some special items.

In this post I will focus on a few bits of quirky jewellery, now re-homed to my address for a bargain price.. obviously, I love bargains!

There are three pieces that I chose among the many at a little stall in this beautiful covered square. More later on the other items that I got there, and elsewhere, in these days – here I’ll keep on the jewellery theme and leave the fabrics for the following one.

First I picked a heart pendant, with the aim of finding later a suitable black or deep red satin cord necklace (or maybe this one or this?) to complement it. Its delicate filigree metalwork reminded me of Etruscan jewellery and a silver butterfly brooch that my mother used to have. The mysterious Etruscans had an important culture and governed a large part of Italy before the Romans; they left some extraordinary examples of art, from goldsmith artefacts to pottery and bronzes… anyway, I’m now digressing.

Image

Image

Image

The next item was a decadent bracelet composed by three rings of coloured pearls, in black, dark red and rich English Rose tones, with matching chiffon top styled as flowers. It’s probably something that I wouldn’t wear everyday, especially given my low-key appearance and no-jewellery daily outfits, but I could imagine that it would work well for an evening out with a black sleeveless dress, or with a goth outfit that I occasionally wear in the alternative Camden.

Image

Image

Image

Image

It took me a while to choose the last one among other candidates, but in the end I took with me a wooden, glass beads and coloured shell necklace. I loved its pair of wood rings, the delicate shades of the real shell and the small glass beads. At first sight I thought it to be a bit on the excessive side, but when I analysed the quality of the material, it appeared to be just a genuinely quirk piece. And if I won’t get to wear it, I can always re-use (upcycle?) its bits: for example, out of the wooden rings make brooches for some own-made shawlette, scarf or cowl – I’d just need a steel or horn pin; or use the beads in the lace-y detail of an accessory. Ideas are plenty, so no worries there.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Off to prepare some fish dish now.. Stay tuned, more to come about fabrics, haberdashery and some original skirts to be restyled…

2 thoughts on “Quirky jewellery at the Old Spitalfields Market

  1. Flora Poste says:

    Good finds, love that bracelet! seems like a good shopping spree!
    Johanna

Leave a Reply

