G♥th

[out of season WIP]

In a recent post I was talking about alternative colours to my usual range. I’ve since sourced more wool and cotton yarn (acrylic is practical to wash but not as nice to work with) in crazy colours. The items in this post use the black and red big yarn (~10mm) I’ve shown there before.

I’m having fun with experimenting something different and created a few item ideas, as well as using existing patterns. It’s still WIP, though. Here is a preview of the mini Goth series I’ve been working on:

G♥th collection (WIP)

I know, I know… this is not the season for such wool and styles.. but, who cares? This is one of the many ideas they’ve recently been going around in my head. You know when you keep thinking ‘I wonder how it would be to work with that yarn? What about this idea? How would it look like?’… Well, I stopped thinking about and started making it!

The first item to be made was this Skull Neck Warmer by Birdface. I loved her design as soon as I saw it some time ago and wanted to try it out – finally I’ve done it. As the skull pattern reminded me of Goth designs, I used the typical colour scheme black/red.

Skull neck warmer, free pattern by Birdface Goth neck warmer                Skull neck warmer: the original free pattern by Birdface and my Goth version.

I also wanted to create more accessories in the same style and drew some things myself. The first piece I made was the neck warmer above. Then I tried my own G♥th fingerless mitts – well, at the moment there is still just one of them!

G♥th fingerless mitts

I will work on more items and try to finish them – wave ends in, etc… all the fun work. In the meanwhile, forget about thick wool and enjoy the nice weather!

...some pop madness                      A crazy fabric I just bought; very bright and pop… just something completely different, of course!

4 thoughts on “G♥th

  1. ScrapAndSalvage says:

    i love! especially the fingerless mitts. now it just needs a beanie to accompany them 🙂
    can’t wait to see what you do with the new heart fabric. it reminds me of a carebear bedspread i had as a kid!

    • itwasjudith says:

      thanks 🙂 i have a few more quick ideas including a cup cozy… not sure about the fabric yet (I have no sewing machine!) but was thinking of a house dress, maybe with an empire line but simple in line… a 60s pop sort-of, just for fun

  2. ro848 says:

    I love your work. I am on the verge of taking the plunge with color knitting. Have been thinking about it for some time and just need to do it!

    • itwasjudith says:

      thank you! maybe you should give it a go when you have the chance… I had done none myself before, but one day just dived into it – results may not be amazing at first but i found it exciting nevertheless!
      Using circular needles makes things easier (but requires steeking if it’s not a tubular object – plenty ot tutorials online). I also tried DPNs, they’re nicer in that you have no worries of the circumference of the item, unlike with the circular needles where you need a suitable cable size. On the other hand, DPNs produce a less regular work because in the spot where they join, it’s easy to have a different tension. At the moment I’m in love with colourwork, despite it being quite out-of-season… well, at least no hurry to complete anything other than for fun 🙂

Leave a comment